Bank of Ceylon (BOC)

Bank of Ceylon (BOC) is a government-owned, major commercial bank in Sri Lanka. Its head office is located in an iconic cylindrical building in Colombo, the political and commercial capital of the island. BOC, as a domestic bank began to grow despite severe competition from exchange bank and informal money-lenders. It opened its first branch in 1941 at Kandy and subsequently in outstation towns, such as Galle, Jaffna and Trincomalee. Bank of Ceylon opened its first overseas branch in 1949 in London.

Click here to view official website

10 Subsidiaries

04 Associated companies

People’s Bank

People's Bank is a state-owned commercial bank in Sri Lanka. The Bank's headquarters are located in Sir Chittampalam A. Gardiner Street in Colombo and was established on July 1, 1961. The bank has a network of 347 local branches and 387 Service Centers with 450+ own ATMs. The Bank offers both Retail and Corporate Banking services including Online Banking and Mobile Banking.

Click here to view official website

03 Subsidiaries (05 Sub-subsidiaries)

  • People’s Leasing and Finance PLC -
    • People’s Insurance PLC -
    • People’s Micro Finance Ltd
    • People’s Leasing Property Development Ltd.
    • People’s Fleet Management Ltd.
    • People’s Havelock Properties Limited
  • People’s Merchant Finance PLC -
  • People’s Travels Private Ltd. -

National Savings Bank (NSB)

National Savings Bank (NSB), is a state-owned Savings Bank in Sri Lanka. It was incorporated in Ceylon by the National Savings Bank Act No. 30 of 1971 and was granted the status of the Licensed Specialised Bank in terms of the Banking Act No. 30 of 1988.NSB has 227 branches.

Click here to view official website


  • NSB Fund Management Company Ltd.

State Mortgage and Investment Bank (SMIB)

The State Mortgage & Investment Bank (SMIB) being one of the oldest banks of the nation was inaugurated as the Ceylon State Mortgage Bank (CSMB) on 6th December 1931 by Ordinance No. 16 of 1931. State Mortgage & Investment Bank formed by the State Mortgage & Investment Bank Law No. 13 of 1975, amalgamating the Ceylon State Mortgage Bank and the Agricultural and Industrial Credit Corporation, established in 1943. The Bank commenced its operation on 1st January 1979. The Bank was recognized as a Licensed Specialized Bank and the license was issued by the Central Bank of Sri Lanka on 27th April 1998 in terms of the Banking Act No. 30 of 1998.

Click here to view official website

Regional Development Bank (RDB)

The beginnings of the Regional Development Bank (RDB) can be traced back to as far as 1985 when district level banks under the category of Regional Rural Development Banks were established. Later in 1997, seventeen such rural regional development banks were merged into six provincial level banks, which functioned as Rajarata, Ruhuna, Wayamba, Uva, Kandurata and Sabaragamuwa Development Banks. In May 2010, these six banks were merged into one national level bank and designated as the Pradheshiya Sanwardana Bank (Regional Development Bank/RDB). The Bank was established as a statutory body under the Pradheshiya Sanwardana Bank Act No.41 of 2008. The 100% Government owned bank was set up with the objective of improving the living standards of the rural masses by providing them accessible and affordable credit facilities that in turn would contribute to strengthen the rural economy. Originally based on the “barefoot banking concept,” the bank strives to provide innovative yet simple financial services to those at the middle and bottom of the income pyramid.

Click here to view official website

Lankaputhra Development Bank

The Lankaputhra Development Bank Limited, is a Licensed Specialized Bank fully owned by the Government of Sri Lanka established under the Banking Act No 30 of 1988, incorporated in Sri Lanka under the provisions of the companies Act No 17 of 1982.

Click here to view official website

Ministry of Public Enterprise Development
(+94) 112 437 847
(+94) 112 437 852